About River Bank

River Bank full color logo with FDIC

"Local Banking Made Simple"

River Bank was formed on June 30, 1991 when three banks located along the Mississippi River in Stoddard, Ferryville and DeSoto were merged together. In September 1993, in an effort to better serve our La Crosse customers, a branch office was opened on Mormon Coulee Road. In November 1996, River Bank expanded its service to the Holmen/Onalaska area. In November 1999, an office was opened in Sparta. In May 2004, a seventh location was opened on the north side of La Crosse. In October 2005, River Bank merged with Farmers State Bank with locations in Bangor, Barre Mills, and Rockland. In December 2007, River Bank built another location in Westby. In October 2010, River Bank consolidated the Rockland location with Barre Mills and Bangor and opened a new location in Coon Valley.

River Bank’s primary mission is to serve the banking needs of Crawford, Vernon, Monroe, La Crosse and Trempealeau Counties. Prior to the formation of River Bank, the original banks had the reputation of being the banks that were friendly, understood their customers' needs and would go the extra distance for service. This continues to be the hallmark of River Bank in its expansion into the Sparta, Onalaska, Holmen, Bangor, Westby and Coon Valley markets.

On January 2nd, 2020 River Bank announced the merger of Union Bank of Sparta with a final date of conversion on May 4th, 2020. As Union Bank was owned by River Holding Company for the past three years, this provided a great opportunity for our two banks to share their common commitment of meeting the financial needs of the communities we serve. River Bank has charted the path of steady growth for several years and are proud to now provide our customers with 14 branch locations.


Our Staff

If you would like to contact a staff member at one of our locations, please use the phone numbers located in the "Hours and Locations" link or use the "Contact Us" feature.

Go to Top